On September 4, 2008, the State Board of the Technical College System of Georgia voted unanimously to consolidate 14 technical colleges statewide into six. The West Georgia Technical College/West Central Technical College merger made the newly named West Georgia Technical College the second largest technical college in Georgia. West Georgia Technical College primarily serves seven counties – Carroll, Coweta, Douglas, Haralson, Heard, Meriwether and Troup, but also provides instructional opportunities to regional, national, and international students through virtual learning program availability.

2011 Golden Knights Baseball TeamToday as the state’s third-largest technical College, West Georgia Technical College is poised to meet the needs of business, industry, and an ever-changing community with over 115 approved programs of study. Students have multiple opportunities to participate in student groups and organizations. Additionally, students have the opportunity to participate in NJCAA athletics through the Golden Knights men’s and women’s athletic teams.

West Georgia Technical College is proud to provide postsecondary education and training to the citizens of West Georgia and the expanded region on campuses and through online learning opportunities. Through this process, our students have the opportunity to improve their quality of life, achieve their dreams, and make our community a better place to live.

The faculty and staff are committed to providing technical education that is responsive to the changing needs of business and industry, students, and the community at large. Today, West Georgia’s unwavering commitment to educational excellence and student success has made our graduates some of the most competitive individuals in the workforce. West Georgia Technical College’s excellent leadership, strong faculty and staff, accessible locations, and affordability will continue the rich tradition of excellence.