Tuition and Fees
The tuition and fees listed below are assessed according to the policies established for all technical colleges governed by the Technical College System of Georgia. Tuition and fees are subject to change without notice.
Verification of Lawful Presence in the United States
TCSG Procedure 6.2.2p: “Each college shall be responsible for the verification of the lawful presence in the United States of every successfully admitted student applying for Georgia resident tuition status as required by state and federal immigration laws.”
How can a student verify lawful presence?
- Students who file a FAFSA (Free Application for Federal Student Aid) and are eligible for federal student aid will have their lawful presence verified as part of the FAFSA process.
- A clear copy of an original or certified U.S. Birth Certificate showing the student was born in the U.S. or a U.S. territory, A U.S. Certificate of Birth Abroad issued by the Department of State (DS-1350) or a Consular Report of Birth Abroad (FS-240). The copy must very clearly show the raised or written seal to be acceptable.
- A U.S. Certificate of Naturalization (USCIS form N-550 or N-570).
- A U.S. Certificate of Citizenship (USCIS form N-560 or N-561).
- A current U.S. Passport.
- Unexpired Georgia and select out of state Drivers licenses and state ID cards can be accepted under certain conditions. It must be a Real ID and not contain any of the verbiage in the chart below. If the copy received has the top portion of the card cut off the document will not satisfy lawful presence.
- A current military ID (service member only, not dependent). Documented using the Confirmation of Review of Military ID Worksheet – A photocopy is not acceptable.
- A current, valid Permanent Resident Card (USCIS form I-151 or I-551). We require both the front & back sides of your Permanent Resident Card to be submitted. It must not expire before the first day of class of the term the student will start classes.
- Students admitted on an F, J or M Visa will have their lawful presence verified through the Student and Exchange Visitor Information System (SEVIS).
- Students admitted on any other Visa will have their lawful presence verified through the Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlements (SAVE) Program.
|State||DL/ID Requirements for Acceptance|
|Alabama||Must NOT be marked “FN”|
|Alaska||Must NOT be marked “Limited Term”|
|California||Must NOT be marked “Limited Term.” Instruction Permits, Commercial Learner’s Permits, and temporary licenses cannot be accepted.|
|Delaware||Must NOT be marked “Limited Term” or “Temporary”|
|Florida||Must NOT be marked “Temporary”|
|Georgia||Must NOT be marked “Limited Term”|
|Idaho||Must NOT be marked “Limited Term”|
|Iowa||Must NOT be marked “Limited Term”|
|Kentucky||Must NOT be marked “Not for REAL ID purposes”|
|Louisiana||Must NOT be marked “Limited Term”|
|Maryland||Must NOT indicate “T” restriction|
Fees are charged to cover the cost of registration and other incidental items necessary to maintain the operational activities of the college. The following fees will apply:
Application Fee: Students applying for admission must pay a one-time nonrefundable application fee of $25.
Registration Fee: All students must pay a $70 registration fee each semester.
Student Activity Fee: Students are required to pay a student activity fee of $45 each semester.
Tuition: All students will be assessed fees at the rate of $100 per credit hour for tuition for diploma and degree programs, up to a maximum of 15 credit hours per semester. Certificate fees may vary, depending on program.
Graduation Fee: All graduating students must pay a $40 graduation fee.
Student Accident Insurance Fee: Students are required to pay a student accident insurance fee of $6 each semester. All students enrolled in a credit program are covered while on campus by the student’s accident insurance.
Out-of-State Tuition: Out-of-state students are charged tuition twice that charged for in-state residents. Out-of-state students pay applicable fees equal to that charged for in-state residents. Student residency is determined at initial enrollment. (Please refer to Admissions section of this catalog for definitions). Residents of Chambers, Cleburne and Randolph counties in Alabama will be considered as in-state residents for fee purposes.
International Tuition Fee: International students pay tuition four times that charged for in-state residents. Student residency is determined at initial enrollment. (Please refer to Admissions section of this catalog for definitions).
Instructional Support Fee: An instructional support fee of $55 will be charged each semester to every full-time and part-time student.
Technology Support Fee: A fee of $105 will be charged to all students each semester regardless of how many hours a student is enrolled. These funds will be used to increase instructional resources and technology.
Textbooks: Students will be expected to purchase necessary textbooks, materials for personal projects, and other items required for each course. For the convenience of the students, the college maintains a bookstore on each campus where textbooks and supplies may be purchased. Every student is required to have books, tools, uniforms and other equipment appropriate to the program of study; in most instances these items will be usable in the student’s employment following graduation. All required books and supplies may be purchased from the college bookstores or online.
Check Return Fee: A check return fee of $30 is charged for handling each check returned to the College.
Late Registration Fee: A fee of $45 will be charged to students registering during Late Registration.
Facilities Fee: A fee of $40 per semester will be charged to all students regardless of how many hours a student is enrolled. These funds will be used to update and maintain the facilities of the college.
Campus Safety Fee: A fee of $40 per semester will be charged to all students regardless of how many hours a student is enrolled. These funds will be used to support West Georgia Technical College’s POST-Certified Police Department, consisting of full- and part-time officers, providing police protection to WGTC students, faculty, staff and facilities. Additionally, the campus safety fee is used to support training activities, acquisition and maintenance of security systems, and police equipment including but not limited to security cameras, access control and emergency broadcast systems.
Lab Fee: A fee of $20 will be charged to students for each term for the areas listed below. These funds will be used to support lab operations and supply costs.
Lab fee is assessed to the following programs:
- All programs in the School of Health Sciences.
- All programs in the School of Trade and Technology with the exception of Commercial Truck Driving and Welding.
- The programs of Early Childhood Care and Education, Cosmetology, Barbering, and Esthetician.
To determine semester costs, compute the number of credit hours and consult the fee chart.
Full-time status = 12 or more credits
Please note that tuition and fees are subject to change at the end of any academic term without prior notice to comply with federal, state, and institutional policies.
*Programs below have a higher rate of tuition per credit hour (plus fees):
Commercial Truck Driving – $132 per credit hour
**Fee totals are based on the following:
|Technology Support Fee||$105|
|Campus Safety Fee||$40|
***Other fees associated with enrollment in certain programs of study:
|Diesel Fuel Surcharge||$185|
|Student Malpractice Insurance||$6|
|CDL Testing Fee||$155|
|Student Malpractice Insurance for EMT||$27|
|Biology and Chemistry Lab Fee||$40|
|Culinary Arts Supply Fee||$20|
|Radiology Badge Fee||$12|
|Welding Supply Fee||$20|
|Welding Test Fee||$24|
|Associate Degree Nursing Assessment Fee||$505|
|Licensed Practical Nursing Assessment Fee||$659|
|Basic EMT Assessment Fee||$49|
|Advanced EMT Assessment Fee||$66.50|
|Paramedic Technology Assessment Fee||$182.50|
|Basic EMT Testing Fee||$98|
|Advance EMT Testing Fee||$136|
|Paramedic Technology Testing Fee||$152|
|National Healthcare Assoc. Pharmacy Certification Exam Fee – DE||$117|
|Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Exam Fee||$129|
|Registered Health Information Technician Exam Fee||$299|
Students will not be charged the student insurance fee for each semester they are totally online.
Georgia residents 62 years of age and older may take courses at West Georgia Technical College on a space available basis free of tuition fee. Such students will be responsible for all other fees, books and supplies. Seminars and special courses are excluded.
Miscellaneous Fees and Expenses
Books: Each student is required to purchase required books for courses. Costs vary, depending upon the course in which the student is enrolled
Tools/Kits: In many training programs, students are required to purchase basic tools essential to the occupational field for which they are training.
Uniforms/Badges: (can be purchased through the college) varies in cost according to program of study. In many programs students will be required to purchase uniforms and badges related to their programs. Students in the Radiologic Technology program are charged a $12 fee for radiation badges in those courses in which a radiation badge must be worn.
Refund of Tuition and Fees
Dropping a class (or classes) before the fourth day of the semester will generate a 100 percent refund of tuition and applicable fees. Refunds may take up to 30 days for processing. All registered students should receive a refund selection kit from BankMobile. We have partnered with BankMobile to deliver your financial aid refund. For more information about BankMobile, visit bankmobiledisbursements.com/refundchoices. Please ensure mailing addresses are kept current with WGTC and BankMobile to receive information regarding refunds.
View our institution’s contract with BankMobile, a Division of Customer Bank.
Students who pay any tuition, fees, or book costs with a check will not be refunded until 30 days after the issuance of that check. Once the student check has cleared the bank, the business office will proceed in posting a refund to the student’s individual bank account.
Students who are eligible for Title IV funds and withdraw from the College before completing 60 percent of the semester will have their award recalculated according to the Return of Title IV Funds Policy. Recalculations will be based on the number of days completed within the semester.
All students enrolled in credit programs and continuing education courses are covered by school accident insurance while on campus. NOTE: The insurance is only supplementary.
Financial Obligation to the College
Failure to meet financial obligations to the college may result in the student’s automatic withdrawal with no credit for the semester. Additionally, such a student may be denied enrollment in subsequent semesters. The college will withhold copies of educational records of students who have outstanding debts to the institution. After the college has attempted to collect a debt from a student, the debt owed to the college will be sent to a collection agency to collect the debt on behalf of the college, and the student will be responsible for any reasonable collection fees of up to 33.333 percent of the delinquent account. This collection attempt will include, but is not limited to, collection attempts made by phone calls, mailed notifications, placement with credit bureaus and, up to and including, placement with local magistrate court.
The college also makes attempts to collect financial obligations owed to the college prior to the start of classes for each semester so that the student will not lose course enrollment due to non-payment. The college accomplishes this by using a third-party messaging system that enables the college to contact many students at once. This is a complimentary service to the student as a reminder only, and it is the responsibility of the student to ensure all fees and tuition are paid in full prior to attending class on the first day of each semester.